Out in the Open

Ambassador Ponan had made his way to the podium, and thundered over the speaker through the din.

“The problem that no one has bothered to voice, and I’m sure is instrumental to both the decision we make together, as well as the personal decisions we will make for our nations, is this.”

Silence had begun to accumulate, and the audience was his.

“I, for one, feel as though my actions were not my own for the past two weeks. I have never before considered revolution, yet have acted in it. And after having several conversations, most of you feel this way, and even suspect the same of your self-appointed superiors.”

There were murmurs of assent, but the floor remained his.

“We cannot return to how things were – what has happened has too much momentum. We can either succumb to infighting, only to fall and be forced to Verdan rule, or we can unite… under a common government.”

Before the arguments for freedom resurfaced, he concluded.

“My nation would follow, but not behind a leader who has been… affected.”

One Response to “Out in the Open”

  1. […] The challenge is as follows. The project exists as entirely my own writing, and as the combined writing of myself and others. Every new bit of content that I add thus needs to work for both versions, and that is becoming increasingly difficult. I cannot directly respond to another writer’s content, as I have neither invited them to replicate their work on my other versions, nor do I feel comfortable copying it over (except for the microstory Promotion for the Sous which Rohit Kumar composed, and I included with his permission). So my content has to be dynamic enough to be interpreted both as a continuation of my unbroken story, and a continuation of the story influenced by other writers. I first realized the challenge factor of this with a microstory which can be found on RolePlayGateway in Verdanus and Tertius, Ficly (Out in the Open), and my Verdanus blog (Out in the Open). […]

Leave a Reply

